Secret Places

With this stupid Windows10 program, this post will have no continuity AT ALL. So, just stay with me.

I have lived on the Island of Hawai’i “The Big Island” for over 40 years it took a newcomer to the island to show me one of the most beautiful places on the island. I’m sure it has a lovely Hawaiian name which, of course, I do not know, but Bill calls is Glass Beach. It is of volcanic origin and is not quite sand. Instead the beach is comprised of tiny smooth rocks and bits of polished glass. The wave break is quite strong, not a swimming type of beach, but the wave action is strong and tumbles the rocks and glass together. It was like treasure hunting. I collected bits of green, cobalt blue, amber and white.  I have no idea of where the glass comes from– maybe Japan, or Tahiti, or Bora Bora, or maybe just up the Hamakua Coast. The weather at my house was beautiful– warm and sunny, but unfortunately, it was a rainy day here. Rain has never bothered me, but the photos are not as clear as they would’ve been. The walk down past a meandering river was spectacular…a few more photos though I have no idea where they will land as they are flying into all the wrong places.

I would like to go back again, on a sunny day and dance hula next to the river. It is quite inspiring.20170302_141727

The river bank had changed and was delivering some forest debris to the oceanside.

The river bank had changed and was delivering some forest debris to the ocean side.

Some of the path down was paved with large stones making it an easy trek

Some of the path down with large stones making it an easy trek

At the river with my bag of glass and smooth rocks.

At the river with my bag of glass and smooth rocks.

 

Showing a bit of a railroad tressle. A train use to go up the river from a mill

Showing a bit of a railroad trestle. A train use to go up the river from a mill

Reflections on a RiverReflections

 

The trail was like a walk through Jarassic Park

The trail was like a walk through Jarassic Park

2 thoughts on “Secret Places

  1. You’d think I’d be over the frustrations by now, but noooooooo! This beautiful beach is most likely not very secret anymore as it was front page news in the Sunday paper regarding the county suing for beach access across a couple of small pieces of private property. The neighboring kids like to body surf here. I expect there to be a lot more traffic in the future and probably no more beach glass to be found. But, my little bits of colored glass, white glass and beautiful smooth rocks have found their way into my lovely Carnival Glass bowl and now sit on my end table to me to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

