A New Passion In My Life

Nope, it’s not what you’re thinking. No new man in my life. I don’t think I’m quite ready for that again. I’ve discovered Country Line Dancing! I’ve been dancing my entire life. I started out at age 4 dancing tap and ballet, then in Jr. High my mom taught all the neighbor kids to rock and roll or swing. I loved that! This carried my through to high school. I took ballroom dancing in Jr. High as well which I enjoyed, but most of the boys didn’t so finding a partner was a challenge. In high school I danced everything from rock to modern to jazz. In my Jr. and Sr. years I had a boyfriend that was one of the best dancers ever and we went to all the school dances. We both raced gymkhana on horseback so attended a lot of “barn dances”. In those days no one line danced. We did the two-step, country swing, cha-cha. Then I moved to Hawai’i. I started working and seldom went dancing.  I married a non-dancer at age 30 and though we did a little disco it was never his thing. It wasn’t until I was in my early forties I discovered hula which became a passion. I’ve now been dancing hula for about 30 years and still look forward to twice weekly classes. But, about two months ago I just got a hankerin’ to try line dancing. This turned out to be some of the most fun times of my life. Because I’ve danced so much of my life I catch on fast and I now have about 10-12 songs under my buckled belt. Last month the Elk’s Club sponsored a Country Night with a live band, $3.00 dinners and $2.50 beers! When it comes to dancing, I’m not shy. I got out there even if I didn’t know the dance. By the second or third round I usually had it down. What fun. They are having another Country Night tomorrow and I can’t wait to go. I have jeans and a cute shirt with a fringed scarf attached. I might even dig out my old belt with the big buckle! I have boots! I will dance the Tush Push, Waltz Across Texas, Baby Bubbles, Huggable. I will be smiling and laughing and having the time of my life. If I can get someone to take a pic or two I will post an update.

12 thoughts on “A New Passion In My Life

  1. I am so thrilled for you that you have found something like this to give you such pleasure! I think line dancing is wonderful. Never done it myself, but there is something so wonderful about working in tandem with others to pull off a complete whole, even though you are only a part of it. What a sense of community! Enjoy!

  2. Wow, Sue, how nice to hear from you. I’ve sort of been out of the loop for awhile now. It’s funny that I grew up a cowgirl, but no line dancing then, so now that I’m a senior I get to dance and dance and since it is a senior community center, I only pay $1 a class! One of the perks of being older. With all the problems I had when I moved back to my home, it has come as a welcomed break. My little on-line shop has enabled me to retire from an outside job, so I’m happy, busy and getting exercise to boot!

    • Wonderful! I am so glad that you are being rewarded with so much pleasure for all of your stressful years. I retire next June but will still keep my Etsy shops. I need that creative edge and the parttime income, too!

  3. When I was on Maui for three years it was a necessity to work as Maui is much more expensive than the Big Island. So, I was working eight hours at the airport and then coming home to about 6-8 hrs. sewing for my shop. I developed bags and dark circles under my eyes! Now, I get along fine with my Soc. Sec. and the income from my Etsy shop. I don’t have expensive tastes and have most everything I need. I have a lot more time for fun things. June will come quickly and then you can take up hula or line dancing or ballroom! Learn to play the piano or ukulele! Volunteer for the Food Bank. Read to Kindergartners! Wow, such fun.

  4. Wow, this is great. It’s so fun to try something new. I’ve always been a big fan of your dancing. I hope you get a picture of one of your darling costumes. I remember the bell bottom trousers, the belts with the silver belt buckles, and the plaid shirts with pockets. Your Mom bought me an outfit, I loved her as if she were my own mother. I’m back into the swimming pool, mainly to build up these lungs that fall prey to asthma. I’m also planning another church play in which I will play a leading role. You’re only as old as you feel –

  5. Indeed! It’s a good thing my lungs are good as I only sat down once during the three hours and that’s when the band took a break. Tonight’s line dancing was even more fun because I had more songs under my belt. I wish the live music dancing was more often than once monthly. It’s sooooo much fun! I’m happy you’re enjoying writing and acting. Anything that keeps ones mind from atrophying is always a good thing.

  6. Could a new product line be coming from this newly discovered passion? When we had our cafe in Ridgway CO, right across the way Rusty Weaver (Dennis Weaver’s son) had a country dance barn with restaurant. While we played rock n roll, blues & jazz in our cafe, it made for quite a contrast in our little retail area called Trail Town.

    • Oh Mary, I don’t think so. I usually have my hands full as it is. I loved country-western music as a kid. And, because many of my social doings were associated with other kids of like mind I spent quite a bit of time at barn dances or dancing to live music by Marty Robbins and Johnny Cash. It was fun. I really never had the opportunity to try line dancing until now. But, it was worth the wait.

  7. I’m so happy for you doll. I love Line dancing. My husband’s passing was a year ago last month and it’s been so hard. I’ve been really busy but miss him terribly. I’m looking forward to traveling nest year and without a man. LOL I just have to learn to be independent again like you. Love you tons.

    • I was so sorry to hear of your loss. I’m sure you miss Jerry a lot. I didn’t even hear of his passing until just a few weeks ago. No longer in the “loop”. Many of my problems, thanks to my renters, have been solved. There is still a lot to do, but those can be done in time. Now, I’m just enjoying myself. Now that I’m no longer having to work outside of my business I have more time. I’m joining the Order of the Eagles to do some community work as well as my hula and line dancing. I don’t mind living alone. I date for fun. I’m not sure I want a committed relationship. The last one didn’t work out so well 🙂

      Love you LOTS. I’ve decided not to go to the reunion. It’s only been four years and it’s just too expensive. I would rather save my “miles” to visit my sons. So, if you’re going to be on the Big Island in Oct. I would love to see you.

Leave a Reply

