Haleakala–House of the Sun

I have lived on Maui for three years. I had gone up to Haleakala once in 1971 when I lived on Maui for four years. But, I have not taken the time to drive up there this time around. So, when I was off from work on Monday I decided to take a day off from sewing as well and drove up the mountain. I was glad to have a warm parka as it gets rather chilly at 10,000 ft. in winter. The drive up was beautiful…forests of eucalyptus, vast acres of pasture land, country farm stands. The road winds up the mountain with a number of hairpin turns. It’s a slow winding traverse with lots of scenic view points. I took advantage of these to take some photos. It was amazing to be about 8000 ft. up and still able to see all the way down the mountain to the sea. I could understand why so many tourists make this trip at sunrise. I work for a shuttle/tour company and they drive huge full buses up Haleakala almost every day of the week, picking up from hotels at about 2:30am! I don’t think I would want to drive up or down in the dark for either sunrise or sunset. I was perfectly happy to see it in the brightness of a sunny day.

.

Adult Silversword...the only place in the world it grows.

Adult Silversword…the only place in the world it grows.

A "teenage" Silversword

A “teenage” Silversword

A keiki Silversword growing in a very rocky terrain

A keiki Silversword growing in a very rocky terrain

unknown plant, but I loved the leaves

unknown plant, but I loved the leaves

20160215_133328 20160215_134101
20160215_134210
20160215_1340400
So different from Mauna Kea...a smooth crater

So different from Mauna Kea…a smooth crater


20160215_134018-1
Driving back down the mountain

Driving back down the mountain

20160215_123522
Beautiful rainbow Eucalyptus trees

Beautiful rainbow Eucalyptus trees

2 thoughts on “Haleakala–House of the Sun

Leave a Reply

