Spring is Springing

Today I wore shorts for the first time in about 5 months, and I live in Maui, Hawai’i! But, my home is up the side of Haleakala in Kula. It’s only about 2500 ft. but it gets down into the lower 40’s and I’m acclimated to a warmer climate. So, this entire winter season, when at home, I’m wearing sweatpants, sweatshirt and crocheted boots! Not feeling particularly attractive, but it’s cold. But, today I woke up and I didn’t feel freezing. I’m still wearing a long sleeve tee-shirt and my boots, but I’m wearing SHORTS!

Keeping the feet nice and toasty

Keeping the feet nice and toasty


Another sign of a coming Spring is the glorious sight of a few Jacaranda blossoms in my driveway. Of course, I immediately looked up to see if the tree was finally blooming, but alas, not yet. I think the few flowers on the ground were those that thought maybe it was time, but when the temperature dipped, realized it was still a little too chilly. Come March the tree will be covered in purple bliss.
DSCN0939

And, for my favorite Spring sign…Spring training for the San Francisco Giants is underway. The regular season will start is just a couple of weeks and I’ll be able to follow my team to, hopefully, another championship season.

The Dynasty

The Dynasty

I’m sooooo looking forward to the flowers, the trees blooming, the bats crackin’.

4 thoughts on “Spring is Springing

  1. The jacaranda is beautiful here too. We have the bulbs blooming green foliage, and the tea roses will come alive in spring. The herbs suffered a bit from all the rain but still have a good variety. I just planted hydrangea but kept them in the shade, in a pot before putting them into this hard ground. In the front of the house I have succulents which have fared better than I expected since I planted cuttings off a neighbor’s plant. I have a few cactus but they haven’t gotten much bigger. The aloa vera is huge and needs to be taken out of the pot, then I think we’ll get those orange blossoms. Yes spring will bring everything alive.

  2. I live in a rental belonging to a landscaper so we have regular service, plantings, etc. so I just sit back and watch it bloom! I do have pots of herbs, most of which I have cut, dried and am presently using. I do need to get the pots planted again because I cook with a lot of fresh herbs. I remember having a big Jacaranda tree in our Alton Dr. lot. I always loved it. I just wish the one up in Kula would bloom longer than just 3 months. By summer it will be lush and green, but the flowers will all be on the ground. Auwe!

  3. You look great doll. I’m coming to Maui May 28th thru June 11h. Love to see you. Invite to Kamanu’s graduating party on June 6th. Earlee would love it if you could come. Her place, don’t know time. Can I mesage you on facebook? If so, I’ll give you my cell number. See you soon. Bethie

  4. Whoo-hoo, can’t wait to see you again. Unfortunately, I work on Sat. and Sun evenings and don’t get off work until 10:00pm so won’t be able to make it to Kamanu’s grad party. Wow, how exciting for him. I will contact you through my email rather than FB to get the phone no., etc.

Leave a Reply

