All Things Hawaiian

Occasionally we have a woman who cooks up a Hawaiian plate lunch and sells them at the airport. I ordered one last week and then forgot all about it. But, today the delivery came at the perfect time when my stomach was starting to growl and I hadn’t packed anything for lunch or snack. I seldom eat plate lunches as on the whole they aren’t very healthy. They usually have things like spaghetti, macaroni salad, rice and bread…a little too many carbs for me. Or they have Teriyaki chicken, rice, mac salad–typical island fare. But, today’s lunch had kalua pig, rice, mac salad, laulau and haupia! Whoo-hoo! Usually kalua pork is wrapped in banana leaves, ti leaves, taro leaves and then cooked in an underground oven called an imu. It’s delicious. But, with a little creativity you can get a similar flavor from your home’s oven. The laulau is package of usually beef, pork and butterfish for fatty flavor. It is wrapped in taro leaves, then wrapped again in ti leaves and steamed for fairly long time. The ti leaves are then discarded and the taro leaves are soft and flavorful, the meats are tender and the butterfish is just about non-existent having done its job. Haupia is a coconut pudding-like dessert that is delicious with a slice of purple sweet potato on top, but alas, no ‘uala on top. But all in all it was satisfying and ono.
WP_20141024_002

There is a new poster in the baggage claim area. I love it. However, the tourists who are the ones who should be reading it, don’t seem to notice it. It has a nice description of the word “ALOHA”. Actually, I know a lot of locals who would benefit from reading it as well.
WP_20141024_001

Several years ago I had an ‘ukulele made for me. It was made by a man by the name of Kaohekalole and he was a direct descendant of Kalakaua, the last king of Hawai’i. Needless to say it has very special meaning to me. Unfortunately, it has fallen on hard times and I’m not sure it will ever be played again. But, I’m hoping that I will be able to have it fixed as I miss it. I do have another ‘ukulele, but it doesn’t hold quite the same history for me. However, it does have a lovely sound. I have fun playing it at church and also on Thursday nights at the ‘ukulele jam where about 75-100 people get together at my church. We learn Hawaiian chants (most of which I already know), we practice the Lord’s Prayer in Hawaiian and sing Hawaiian songs from a big song book which I need to buy again as I left mine in Hilo.

The beauty and the beast!

The beauty and the beast!


A big Hawaiian man with a small 'ukulele!

A big Hawaiian man with a small ‘ukulele!

Speaking of church. I am now the proud owner of a Hawaiian bible with a translation in English side by side. I love it. It’s beautiful to look at, easy to read and gives me the opportunity to learn new words, phrases, etc. I like to use Hawaiian phrases when dealing with tourists. Maui is so very tourist oriented that I don’t think they ever even hear the language. So, it they have had to wait for the shuttle I tell them,”Mahalo i ka ho’omanawanui”…thank yor for your patience. Or, I might say, “e launa kou kama’ima’i o Maui” or enjoy your visit on Maui.

He Bibala Hemolele

He Bibala Hemolele

WP_20141024_004

A couple of days ago I bought a plant for my apartment. It is a “hula plant” called Laua’e. I am happy with my new roomie. It’s speaks to me.WP_20141019_002

As many of you know I have an on-line Etsy shop. I sew hula pa’u, tops, blouses, aloha shirts, etc. so I’m going to add a few of these little gems since they, too, are included in all things Hawaiian.
WP_20140930_001

Little girls like pink, older girls like something a bit my contemporary.

Little girls like pink, older girls like something a bit my contemporary.

WP_20141002_001

My favorite flower of Hawaii…plumeria. They use to grow everywhere. When I first lived on O’ahu in 1962, the fragrance was pervasive. When I sailed to the Big Island of Hawai’i in 1963, you could smell the plumeria in the air before you could see the islands. They always evoke those special memories of returning home. This photo has always made me smile as on one of the flowers is a tiny little geiko.
rainbows,etc 004

And, last, but certainly not least…hula. I’m adding a couple of photos from my halau ho’ike of last year. We are now practicing for our next ho’ike and I’m looking forward to it…a lot of work, but such an uplifting experience.

Ready to dance 'auana or modern hula.

Ready to dance ‘auana or modern hula.

...and Kahilo or ancient hula with Mark Keali'i Ho'omalu. This was an awesome experience.

…and Kahilo or ancient hula with Mark Keali’i Ho’omalu. This was an awesome experience.

DSCN0884

2 thoughts on “All Things Hawaiian

  1. Hi Carol,
    You’re always up to something. I love, love all the beautiful pictures. I’ll have to get on Word Press and get busy. I love plumeria and took care of them at my previous residence. Now I have herbs, tomatoes and eggplant, also green peppers and a few other things. I’m glad I got a recent picture of you. That plant for your house is huge, and so are most plants in the tropics, it seems. I’m, making a Queen Catherine costume for my performance in the Shakespeare company. I’m the first wife of the ornery King Henry VIII, who had six wives and beheaded two. I’m his first wife, daughter of the King of Spain, whom he put away in exile (in one of her castles) to marry Ann Boleyn, the mother of the great Queen Elizabeth. Ann was beheaded for treason. (Sounds like Mrs. Hall’s class?) I am quoting a monologue that runs about five minutes. I’ll get pictures. I’m finding performing as much or more fun than writing, but have applied for a local playwriting group that might lead to something. Pray for me. We read the Bible and pray every morning. On Halloween I’m going to be doing face painting at the church (I’ll get pictures). Thanks again for making contact in this busy world.

  2. Well, obviously I’m not the only busy one around! How fun to be acting in a play rather than writing one. And, at least you don’t get beheaded! Auwe. My son, Jaron, was in the Performing Arts Learning Center (PALC) in high school and loved it. In his senior year is starred in “Cocoanuts” as a Groucho Marx character and had several long monologues. He was fabulous. He never got nervous on stage and wondered why others did. It’s taken me about 30 years of performing where I don’t get horribly nervous before going on! So, he didn’t get his hutzpah from me. Have fun!!

    I like to try and keep up with posting on my blog, but seldom find the time. I did however find a little time last night so decided to do just a general rendering of things important to me.

Leave a Reply

