A new creation

I have been making hula pa’u for some time and occasionally I like to “mixed it up a bit” and create something a little different. Hence, the double layered reversible skirt. It’s such a nice chocolate-brown (definitely works for me!) with a print that looks like a vintage sepia toned photo. I was going to just leave it cream on one side and brown on the other, but then decided to shorted the print and add a band at the bottom which gave a little jolt to the solid brown side. I like the results.

This is the one side: flowered cream print, brown underskirt and a small matching floral band at the bottom

This is the one side: flowered cream print, brown underskirt and a small matching floral band at the bottom

And, this is the solid chocolate with the floral border at the bottom.

And, this is the solid chocolate with the floral border at the bottom.

4 thoughts on “A new creation

  1. Mahalo Babs, this was a fun project, though time consuming! The waist band is the traditional way of making a hula skirt or pa’u. Sometimes they are made with three rows of elastic, some four rows depending on the halau (school).

  2. Carol, this is beautiful. For now I’m busy on publishing a poetry book for my roomie and friend, Janet. But I did get equipment to make one doll because my granddaughter loves to make dolls. I also love the waistband on this skirt and I happen to really like brown. Your hula skirts are the best and you write about them so well. Donna Gordon

  3. Thanks Donna, it was a fun project and I’m almost sad it’s sold. I shipped it this morning. But, I’m always happy to see a new hula dancer in one of my skirts. I really think she will like this one. How wonderful for Janet to have a friend that will write poetry for her. I love to write poetry, I’m not particularly great at it, but I just enjoy putting feelings into words. I should send you a couple for your critique! And, goodness, you also make dolls. What a lucky granddaughter. Goodness, but I wish I had a grand to sew for!

Leave a Reply

