Perseverance…

I came across this blog just after my post about my Christmas dress. How appropriate. It’s always nice to know that good things can come from bad beginnings.

Tale of Two Earrings

December 26, 2012 by barkingdoggallery

“Good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment.”
― Rita Mae BrownAlma Mater

 

I’ve written before about the wonder of mistakes, but this  is an excellent lesson is using mistakes to your benefit.  Mistakes challenge you to think differently, and come up with new and original ideas.  In my case, I had planned to make a pair of earrings.  I textured a piece of copper, and cut out two earring sized circles.  I cut out a second off center circle in each earring.  Unfortunately, as I was drilling a hole for the earwire, one earring cracked.  No problem, I just carved out a few more matching cracks in each earring, and continued on.

Then…. Just as I was placing these still matching earrings in the kiln, one of them cracked on it’s thinner side.  I patched it together, but after firing it was still cracked.  The two matching earrings then became potential unmatching pendants.  Here are pics of the final products — very different from my original plan, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Please sent me some pics of your favorite mistakes!

This intact remaining earring because a lovely charm holder pendant.

This intact remaining earring became a lovely charm holder pendant.

I removed more of the copper around the crack, and hung a tiny silver charm from this pendant.

I removed more of the copper around the crack, and hung a tiny silver charm.

2 thoughts on “Perseverance…

Leave a Reply

